By Jacob Laskaris

Let me start off by saying that I did not attend North for all four years. For the first two years of my high school career, I went to Willamette High School. It was an OK school, but I didn’t feel like I belonged there. North was where I was meant to be. In late 2014, I registered at NEHS and I’ve been here ever since.

Overall, my experience here has been pretty good. I never had any bad moments or experiences here at North, but all in all it’s been average. I had good teachers, great friendships and learned a lot here. I do want to give a Caledonian shout-out to Mr. Schermerhorn who is actually interested in his student’s futures. He engaged our class with great stories that relate to our lessons and really cares about giving us a great learning opportunity. Also, a huge thank you to Mrs. Peterson, who was willing to help me catch up on math credits. Thank you to the teachers who helped me progress to graduation and allow me to enter the real world.

It’s hard to believe that in a couple days, I will be walking onto the field in my cap and gown and preparing to enter the real world. It’s scary to some, but to me, it’s high time for me to become an adult of the real world. I’m excited, with maybe some nervousness. I have been looking forward to this day for a long, long time. Graduation is a tradition that has lasted through the years, and a tradition that will last for years to come.